untitled-5716

Evie Ladin

Song / Dance / Banjo

Evie’s mastery of the clawhammer banjo is an absolute wonder, and the soulful, salty tanginess of her voice grips the listener and refuses to let go as it narrates some wild musical tales — WOMAD Festival

UPCOMING EVENTS

from
to
05
26
Jan
Jan
2022
2022
Online from Anywhere
7PM ET / 6PM CT / 5PM MT / 4PM PT
from
to
06
17
Jan
Mar
2022
2022
Online from Anywhere
4-5pm Eastern / 1-2pm Pacific / etc.
08
Jan
2022
Novato, CA
8pm
from
to
11
15
Jan
Feb
2022
2022
Online from Anywhere
from
to
19
26
Jan
Jan
2022
2022
Online from Anywhere
5:30-7pm PDT
25
Feb
2022
Berkeley, CA
04
Mar
2022
Mt Aukum, CA
05
Mar
2022
06
Mar
2022
Bishop, CA
09
Mar
2022
Kernville, CA

ABOUT EVIE LADIN

The polyrhythmic heat of Evie Ladin’s clawhammer banjo, resonant voice, real stories and rhythmic dance have been heard from A Prairie Home Companion to Lincoln Center, Celtic Connections to Hardly Strictly Bluegrass, Brazil to Bali. A prolific creator and gracious facilitator, Evie grew up steeped in traditional folk music/dance up and down the East Coast, bringing a syncretic vision to new work while holding fast to the roots.

A natural entertainer with a gift for infusing folk practices with contemporary verveSan Francisco Chronicle

Evie writes clever lyrics with mature arrangements, calls rowdy square dances for urban crowds, choreographs new body music/percussive dance for contemporary dance and film, leads seminars in movement anthropology, rocks straight up old time clawhammer banjo, and gardens, from the vibrant homebase of Oakland, California. She’s won ribbons and arts fellowships, performed in sold out concert halls and cozy living rooms, and toured around the world, to every state in the US except Florida. She’s never been to Florida.

DISCOGRAPHY

Original Songs • Traditional Banjo & Fiddle Duets • Instructional Buckdancing DVDS

Playing Our Hand

Evie Ladin Band | 2020

Caught on a wire

Evie Ladin Band | 2019 

RIDING THE ROOSTER

Evie Ladin | 2019 

Jump the fire

Evie Ladin Band | 2016